Skip to content

Pressing Queen Anne’s Lace

July 27, 2009

I believe that Queen Anne’s Lace is just too pretty to ignore. This beautiful flower had to be preserved and used in this nature crafty family.

IMG_0944

 

I dyed the flowers in many different colors, since QAL dyes so well. Then I tried pressing the entire flower. This was a little difficult because many of the florets were crushed, no matter how hard I tried to press them all down perfectly.

IMG_0081

 

So then I tried pressing each floret individually. This was a bit more time consuming, but worth it.

IMG_0094

 

After a few days in the flower press, they were ready to use. They pressed perfectly!

IMG_0097

 

Now, what to do with these pressed lovelies; I made a paperweight. I used a 1 part glue to 2 part water solution, then decoupaged the florets onto a rock.

IMG_1011

Now, what do you think of this post? If I move, will you still follow?? Leave me a comment at 5 Orange Potatoes telling me what you think. Thanks!

Lisa 🙂

24 Comments leave one →
  1. cheer4soccer permalink
    July 27, 2009 7:51 pm

    We WILL FOLLOW! 🙂 Love the paperweight.

  2. July 27, 2009 11:21 pm

    If you move I’m following. I love your blog! Lovely top photo.

  3. July 28, 2009 12:11 am

    I love how they turned out!

    Of course I would follow your blog wherever you are! I think wordpress is a good choice for you.

  4. July 28, 2009 12:38 am

    I’ll still follow; love your blog. I like that you can have a wider space to write here, it looks like; the large-sized photos are nice. You might inspire me to switch…

  5. July 28, 2009 12:46 am

    follow follow follow follow (she sings, a la “yellow brick road”)…looks great!
    i have to try this – we just dyed some QAL and it is so lovely! we’ll see if i have the patience to press each floret (really? each one?) separately…

  6. July 28, 2009 1:14 am

    I really like the size of the photos you’re able to post on this site! The advantage of Blogger, though, is that I am able to subscribe to your blog and see notices on my “dashboard” when you post an entry. I would still follow your blog if you moved it, because I think you have wonderfully creative projects.

  7. Kyla permalink
    July 28, 2009 1:27 am

    will follow, but probably not as often…. it takes twice as long to load the pictures on my computer. 😦 thanks for the pressing tip – pressing QAL has always frustrated me.

  8. July 28, 2009 2:33 am

    I will follow you anywhere you go! And you are making a QAL lover out of me – hopefully I haven’t yanked them all out…

    This format is clearer. I have both wordpress and blogspot. I like them/dislike them both for different reasons.

  9. July 28, 2009 3:32 am

    Lisa, very cool blog! Do you even need to ask if we will follow?!!! I am looking forward to seeing what you do with wordpress!! I might be joining you!!!! I especially like the size of the photos.

    And I love the name!!!!

    Love
    Lisa!

  10. July 28, 2009 3:57 am

    will follow. love the format.

    and to crescent moon you can still see wordpress on your dashboard. blogger will let you add it as a blog to follow. you just do it manually instead of hitting the follow this blog button. i’ve got a ton of wordpress and typepad blogs i follow.

  11. July 28, 2009 4:18 am

    the goofy monsters on the comments are so rad! I love the big pictures too..

  12. July 28, 2009 5:48 am

    beautiful. the project, the photos, the post, how the blog is shaping up. all of it.
    nicola
    http://whichname.blogspot.com

  13. Cheryl permalink
    July 28, 2009 10:11 am

    Of course, I will follow. The pictures are so lovely on this site!!!

  14. July 28, 2009 10:40 am

    Your photos are spectacular on this site ~ nice and big 🙂 This is an awesome craft – I like queen anne’s lace too.

    Of course I’ll follow you Lisa!

  15. Kim permalink
    July 28, 2009 11:51 am

    I like the overall format of Blogger better, but will very happily follow you wherever you go … I LOVE your creative ideas. My son and I made your dandelion cookies this weekend, and are getting ready to make a toad house!

  16. July 28, 2009 12:07 pm

    I will definitely follow you my earth sister.
    Let yourself grow as you are inspired to, and thank you for the ways you inspire all of us.

  17. July 28, 2009 12:29 pm

    will still follow : )

  18. Gumbleflump permalink
    July 28, 2009 12:55 pm

    Of course I’ll still follow, I follow via Twitter. Love to see the nature and craft activities you do with your lovely daughters 🙂 You always inspire me to do new craft or nature things with my daughter, when I have time (baby son not old enough to join in yet!)

  19. blendedcolors permalink
    July 28, 2009 2:09 pm

    we will follow…

  20. July 28, 2009 2:18 pm

    Looks really really great.

    Wanted to let you and your readers know about my imaginative giveaway on MY LITTLE HEN. I hope your kids participate. You have so many fun projects.

    http://craftingfunforkids.typepad.com/hatchings/

  21. July 28, 2009 4:27 pm

    looks great!!! and thanks for the tip!

  22. Alicia permalink
    July 28, 2009 5:16 pm

    I would follow you, but I do like the old blog better.

    When you post on Blogger do you do it through them directly, on the site? I use Windows live Writer and it’s easy to make the pictures huge on there. Instead of switching maybe you could just try that.

    • faunarain permalink*
      July 28, 2009 6:16 pm

      Alicia, thanks for the tip, I have very few computer skills so I need a host that can provide me with what I want out of a site. Faunarain will not be the site I move to, I’m working on 5 orange potatoes (at wordpress) right now. The site will be so much more organized when finished. I think you will find it better. Thank you so much for your comments and tips.

      Lisa 😉

  23. July 29, 2009 2:01 am

    Beautiful top photo!! Even though I’m reading in spurts this summer I’ll definitely follow along if you move to a new site. I couldn’t bear to miss your creative ideas.

Leave a Reply

